Resize text+=

‘The Odds’ Audio Drama Acquires Composer Sam Cushion

Fanboy Comics (soon to become Fanbase Press) is excited to announce the addition of composer Sam Cushion (The Music of Panem, Breaking Amish, Doomsday Castle) to its audio drama adaptation of The Odds, a post-apocalyptic action-comedy novel written by Robert J. Peterson and published by California Coldblood Books (an imprint of Rare Bird Books). 

Set in a barren future following a mysterious, world-wide cataclysm, The Odds tells the tale of a good-hearted rogue with only one way to ensure the safety of his family: entering a deadly battle tournament where chess is a full-contact sport.  Filled to the brim with non-stop action, quick-witted humor, kooky technology, and bizarre creatures, The Odds will appeal to fans of Star Wars, as well as cult classics like Big Trouble in Little China and Firefly.

SamCushionSam Cushion is known for creating orchestral soundtracks to well-known books, including The Hunger Games series, The Fault in Our Stars, World War Z, and many more.  He has also composed music for several television shows on National Geographic, TLC, as well as YouTube’s MysterGuitarMan.  Cushion’s Music of Panem soundtracks were also featured in The Katniss Chronicles, the award-winning, fan-made audio drama adaptation of The Hunger Games series.

“Sam Cushion is an extremely skilled and talented composer who raises the quality level of any project of which he is a part,” says Fanboy Comics President and The Odds audio drama co-writer Bryant Dillon. “I’ve been a big fan of Sam’s work for some time, and I’m utterly thrilled to add him to the creative team behind this amazing audio drama.”

Estimated for a late 2016 release, The Odds – Audio Drama will feature 10 to 15 episodes and will be available for purchase through various online platforms.

The Odds novel is currently available for sale through Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and select book sellers throughout the US. 

For more information on The Odds – Audio Drama, please visit  The Odds – Audio Drama may also be found on Facebook and Twitter, @TheOddsAD.


About Fanboy Comics
Fanboy Comics is a comic book publisher and an online community supporting other creators and fans through daily reviews, interviews, and podcasts that span the pop culture spectrum.  Fanboy Comics seeks to provide an outlet for up-and-coming artists and writers with a desire to create new works and media. By facilitating in-house collaborations and providing support and empowerment, Fanboy Comics hopes to enable the production of professional and marketable creator-owned works.  The publisher’s graphic novels, Something Animal, Identity Thief, The Arcs, Fearworms: Selected Poems, and Penguins vs. Possums, are available online at  As of May 2, 2016, Fanboy Comics will be rebranding to Fanbase Press and will be found at

About California Coldblood Books
California Coldblood Books is a small publishing company dedicated to science-fiction, fantasy, and speculative writing. CCB is an imprint of Rare Bird Books and is distributed in the United States by Publishers Group West.  More information may be found at

About Robert J. Peterson
Robert J. Peterson is a writer and web developer living in Los Angeles. A Tennessee native, he graduated from Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism. He’s the founder of California Coldblood Books and the author of seven novels, a few of which will see life under the CCB banner, including the imprint’s debut title, The Odds.  His friends call him Bob.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top