Resize text+=

Countdown to the Eisners: 2019 Nominees for Best Lettering

Fanbase Press’ coverage of the 2019 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards continues with the “Countdown to the Eisners” series. From Wednesday, May 29, through Wednesday, July 10, 2019, Fanbase Press will highlight each of the Eisner Awards’ 31 nomination categories, providing comic book industry members and readers alike the opportunity to learn more about the nominees and their work. Stay tuned for Fanbase Press’ continued coverage of the Eisner Awards, including live coverage of the ceremony at San Diego Comic-Con on Friday, July 19.

First given in 1993 to lettering legend Todd Klein for his work on The Sandman and The Demon, the Eisner Award for the Best Lettering has also previously been bestowed upon such talent as Stan Sakai, David Mazzucchelli, and many more!

Here are the 2019 Eisner Award nominees for the Best Lettering category:

DavidAja cfa

David Aja, Seeds (Berger Books/Dark Horse)

In addition to his lettering skills, Aja is an award-winning artist who’s worked on such titles as Hawkeye and Immortal Iron Fist.

This year, Aja is nominated for his lettering on Seeds, an “eco-fiction tech-thriller where flora and fauna have begun to mutate.”

Click here to purchase.

JimCampbell 11b

Jim Campbell, Breathless, Calexit, Gravetrancers, Snap Flash Hustle, Survival Fetish, The Wilds (Black Mask); Abbott, Alice: Dream to Dream, Black Badge, Clueless, Coda, Fence, Firefly, Giant Days, Grass Kings, Lumberjanes: The Infernal Compass, Low Road West, Sparrowhawk (BOOM! Studios); Angelic (Image); Wasted Space (Vault)

Campbell, who is also apparently known by some as “Angry Jim,” is an American comic artist and musician living in Brooklyn, New York. His past lettering credits include Fence, Meathaus, Star Wars Tales, and more.

This year, Campbell is nominated for multiple titles, including Breathless, which the publisher described as “Buffy the Vampire Slayer if the villains were big pharma.”

Click here to purchase.

AlexdeCampi 00f

Alex de Campi, Bad Girls (Gallery 13); Twisted Romance (Image)

de Campi is an Eisner-nominated comic book writer, as well as being known for her work as a film and music video director. Past comic credits include Smoke, Archie vs. Predator, and more.

Bad Girls is a female-lead noir tale nominated for three Eisners total (Best Graphic Album, Best Writer, Best Lettering) this year, while Twisted Romance is described by the publisher as “four stories of love and lust.”

Click here to purchase.

JaredFletcher 786

Jared Fletcher, Batman: Damned (DC); The Gravediggers Union, Moonshine, Paper Girls, Southern Bastards (Image)

Fletcher has a massive amount of lettering credits to his name, not to mention his work as writer, penciller, and colorist. Past lettering credits include All Star Batman & Robin, The Boy Wonder, The Authority, and more.

Fletcher is nominated for several titles this year, including the controversial Batman: Damned which focuses on the Dark Knight after the death of the Joker.

Click here to purchase.

ToddKlein 9a6

Todd Klein, Black Hammer: Age of Doom, Neil Gaiman’s A Study in Emerald (Dark Horse); Batman: White Night (DC); Eternity Girl, Books of Magic (Vertigo/DC); The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: The Tempest (Top Shelf/IDW)

Klein is an award-winning comic book letterer (having won the Eisner 17 times in this category), in addition to his work in logo design and occasionally as a writer. During his career, Klein has had the opportunity to work with iconic comic book writers like Neil Gaiman, Alan Moore, Bill Willingham, and many others.

Klein is nominated for multiple titles this year, including Black Hammer: Age of Doom, which has previously won the Eisner for Best New Series!

Click here to purchase.

Stay tuned to the Fanbase Press website each day as we continue our “Countdown to the Eisners” coverage! Plus, follow Fanbase Press’ Facebook, Twitter (@Fanbase_Press), and Instagram (@fanbasepress) with the hashtag #FPSDCC to stay up to date on our SDCC and Eisner Awards updates, including a live-tweet of the 2019 Eisner Award Ceremony from the Hilton Bayfront Hotel at San Diego Comic-Con on the evening of Friday, July 19th!


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top