Resize text+=

Saturn Award Winners Announced!

saturn awards 887Dear Fanboy Comics Readers:


The Fanboy Comics Staff attended last night’s 37th Annual Saturn Awards in Burbank, CA, celebrating the best in Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and Horror.  Stay tuned to the Fanboy Comics website for lots of interviews and photos from the coolest presenters, nominees, and award winners, including Brandon Routh, Sam Witwer, Kurtwood Smith, Michael Biehn, and more!


For now, here is a list of last night’s winners!  Congratulations to all, and thank you for your contributions to our favorite TV and movie genres!












Best Local Stage Production: Small Theatre
“Watson” – Accepting Jamie Robledo and French Steward



Best Local Stage Production: Drama or Comedy
“The  Liutenant of Inishmore” – Accepting Andrew Connolly


Life Career Award:
Bert I. Gordon


Best Local Stage Production, Small Theatre
“Watson” – Accepting are Jamie Robledo and French Steward


Best Local Stage Production, Drama or Comedy:
“The  Liutenant of Inishmore” – Accepting is Andrew Connolly


Best Local Stage Production, Musical:
“Young Frankenstein” – Accepting is Mel Brooks


Best DVD Collection:
“Avatar” – Accepting are Geoff Burdick, dvd producer


Best DVD Release:

“Never Sleep Again: The Elm Street Legacy” – Accepting are Andrew Kasch, Daniel Farrands, Thommy Hutson & Heather 


Best DVD Classic Film Release:
“The Complete Metropolis” – Accepting is Eric Wilkinson


Best DVD TV Release:
“Twilight Zone: Seasons 1 & 2” – Accepting are Ray Gagnon (Exec. VP) & Marc Scott Zicree


Best Action/Adventure Film:
“Salt” – Accepting are Kurt Wimmer and Sunil Perkash

Life Career Award:
Michael Biehn


Best Make-Up:
“The Wolfman” – Accepting are Rick Baker and Dave Elsey


Best Production Design: 
“Tron: Legacy” – Accepting is Darren Gilford


Best Performance by a Younger Actor:
Chloe Grace Moretz

The Visionary Award to Marvel Studios
Kevin Fiege (President of Marvel Studios) – Accepting is Tom Cohen (VP of Production)

Best Guest Starring Actor on TV:
Joe Manganiello (accepting via video clip)


Best TV Presentation:
“The Walking Dead” – Accepting are Gale Anne Hurd and Frank Darabont


Best Supporting Actress on TV:
Lucy Lawless (accepting via video clip) – accepting is Exec. Prod. Steven DeKnight


Best Supporting Actor on TV:
John Noble


Best Actor on TV:
Stephen Moyer


Best Actress on TV:
Anna Torv


Best Syndicated/Cable TV Series:
“Breaking Bad” – accepting is Vince Gilligan


Best Network TV Series:
“Fringe” – accepting are Joel Wyman & Jeff Pinkner Prods.


The Dr. Donald A. Reed Award
Dean Devlin


Best Costume:
“Alice in Wonderland” – Colleen Atwood


Best Music:
“Inception” – Hans Zimmer


Best Special Effects:
“Inception” – Chris Carbould, Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, and Peter Begg


Best TV Guest Star:
Richard Dreyfuss for “Weeds”


Best Supporting Actress:
Mila Kunis for “Black Swan”


Best Supporting Actor:
Andrew Garfield for “Never Let Me Go”


Best Animated Film:
“Toy Story 3”


Best Actress:
Natalie Portman for “Black Swan”


Best International Film:
“Monsters” – accepting are Whitney Able & Scott McNairy


Best Horror/Thriller Film:
“Let Me In” – accepting is Matt Reeves


Best Writing:
Christopher Nolan “Inception” – (video acceptance)


Best Director:
Christopher Nolan “Inception” – (video acceptance) Brandon Routh presents the following:


Best Fantasy Film:
“Alice in Wonderland” – Accepting is Suzanne Todd


The George Pal Memorial Award
Frank Darabont


Best Science Fiction Film:
“Inception” – (video acceptance)


The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror was founded in 1972 by noted film historian Dr. Donald A. Reed to honor and recognize genre entertainment.  Over the years, the Academy has expanded their reach to include other film genres.  The organization also recognizes excellence in television and home entertainment.  Robert Holguin presently serves as President of the 39 year old organization.


Special thanks to Melanie Marquez and the team at M4PR for a fabulous event, as well as Rebecca Lear for her still photography services!

Barbra Dillon, Fanbase Press Editor-in-Chief




Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top