Resize text+=

‘Hack/Slash 15th Anniversary Special:’ Advance Comic Book Review

Image Comics has released the 15th anniversary special of Hack/Slash which has become know for its series of one-shots full of grandiose horror comedy. In many ways, this series returns to its core intention, as it explores various tropes and metafiction. The series itself ran off the premise that horror victim Cassie Hack lunged at the chance to attack the creatures that harmed others. With the creatures being dubbed “slashers,” they comprise a set of original villains along with special appearances from crossover franchises.

The series was initially released by Devil’s Due Publishing as a series of one-shots in 2004. After some financial issues, the series moved to Image Comics which allowed creator Tim Seeley to release a complete version of his story. Later, creators Michael Moreci and Steve Seeley took over the series with a five-issue arc called Son of Samhain, followed by Hack/Slash: Resurrection with new writer Tini Howard and Celor and K. Michael Russell.

The anniversary special opens with a stunning metafictional commentary about a frustrated Tim Seeley that desires for his creation, Cassie Hack, to be living flesh; however, he becomes the recipient of his own inflicted horrors when his characters promise to attack him. There are two more fantastic stories that offer a change of pace and yet still capture the feeling of this series. Creators Tim Seeley and Stefano Caselli have truly found artists that magnify and elevate the horror comedy genre. Truly, the love and joy that the creative team has for the series bleeds through the pages.

Creative Team: Tim Seeley (writer), Sam Eggleston (writer), Brian Crowley (writer), Jeff Bohn (writer), Greg Ellner (writer), Dan Leister (artist), Jules Shapirov (artist), Tyler Walpole (cover artist)
Publisher: Image Comics
Click here to purchase.

Arbaz Mohammad Khan, Fanbase Press Guest Contributor



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top