Captain Marvel 2Fanboy Comics Contributor Jason Enright brings you his top comic book picks for the week.


Captain Marvel #2
by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Dexter Soy

Last month, Kelly Sue DeConnick returned Carol Danvers to the spotlight with her new series, Captain Marvel. The book sold out immediately, and everyone was talking about the best new superhero book on the stands. One month later we get to see how DeConnick will handle this book as an ongoing. Issue #1 was a great stand-alone issue, but Issue #2 really gets the story rolling. I have to say, I enjoyed Issue #2 even more than Issue #1. Carol is an awesome character. She's strong, funny, and she doesn't really think things through. In fact, her flaws are my favorite part of the book. She screws up a lot and it is okay, it's even funny. Plus, Dexter Soy's art is even better in this issue than the last. Make sure you get this issue, and, if you can, try to find Issue #1, as well.

 

Extermination 3Extermination is part parody and part moral examination. Set in a post-apocalyptic world after an alien invasion, the surviving superheroes and supervillains have to work to survive and might even find their own petty grudges not so important when compared to the fate of the world.  The three main characters in this issue are Nox, Red Reaper, and Promethean. Promethean is pretty much a Wolverine analog with his regeneration powers, bone claws, and habit of calling everyone “Bud.” Nox is Batman meets Punisher down to his rogue's gallery, and Red Reaper is . . . Red Reaper.

 

Snarked 11Snarked is the Eisner Award winning all-ages comic by Roger Langridge, and it is worth all the praise and accolades it has received. This book is full of action, adventure, and humor brought to life by lovable characters. Langridge has populated the world of Snarked with characters from Alice in Wonderland like the Walrus and the Carpenter and the Cheshire Cat, but he has made the characters all his own with his fun, flawed take on them.

 

Elephantmen 42Elephantmen is the best book you aren't reading right now. That's a real shame, because everybody should be reading it. Sure, it's a weird, high concept book filled with sex and violence, but when you pull back those layers, it's a really wonderful, emotional story about flawed people trying to do their best. That's where its genius lies, because when you get really into the story, you forget that you're looking at a 12-foot tall elephant/man hybrid, and you just feel for this person. The empathy that Richard Starkings has infused his book with makes Elephantmen so much more than what its cover suggests.

 

Fatale 7Fatale is Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips' awesome, new noir-inspired look at secret cults, drugged out actors, and the seedy underbelly of Hollywood. It takes all of the classic elements of old crime stories and mixes them up with a big helping of the supernatural to create a new series that is totally unlike anything else out there. Brubaker utilizes a unique first-person narration that isn't commonly seen in modern comics to give the reader a look into the mind of his character. As readers, we get to experience the doubts and worries that plague Miles as he unravels this mystery right along with us.

 

Saga 6The joke of “Go read this now” is common enough in reviews, but I literally mean it here. Saga is an ongoing story in a strange and fascinating universe that takes time to become familiar with and is worth every moment of investment. If you like Brian K. Vaughan's other work or the summary below sounds interesting, you should go read Issues #1-#5, and then come back to this review in anticipation for the release of Issue #6.

Reed Gunther V2Fans of Shane and Chris Houghton’s all-ages comic book series, Reed Gunther, will be ecstatic to learn that the familial duo recently released their second trade paperback, Reed Gunther Volume 2: Monsters and Mustaches!  Everyone’s favorite loud-mouthed cowboy, Reed Gunther, and his trusty bear Sterling are entangled in more hilarious adventures in this collection of Issues #6-10, which also includes lots of exciting extras like an introduction by Simpsons comic book writer Ian Boothby, Reed Gunther short stories, and fantastic sketches and pin-up art!  And, to commemorate the release of Monsters and Mustaches, the Houghton brothers have a very special treat for readers who may be new on the trail of the bear-riding cowboy.

 

Invincible 94As far as I am concerned, if I was only able to have one comic book title in my pull list, that book would be Invincible. As the series approaches Issue #100, it still remains as fresh and exciting as ever.

SPOILERS BELOW

Serenity Those Left BehindIs there seriously anything better than getting more Firefly? Methinks not. I went into Serenity: Those Left Behind completely in the dark as to what it was about, when it took place, and who was involved, which left me completely satisfied at the ending. 


MAJOR SPOILERS BELOW

To Read ListThe ‘To Read’ List:

Moriarty: the Dark Chamber by Daniel Corey, Anthony Diecidue, Perry Freeze, and Dave Lanphear
The Umbrella Academy: Apocalypse Suite by Gerard Way and Gabriel Ba
The Light by Nathan Edmondson and Brett Weldele
The Re(a)d Diary by Steven T. Seagle and Teddy Kristiansen


Read This Week:

Lost Dogs by Jeff Lemire
The Underwater Welder by Jeff Lemire



Page 329 of 353
Go to top