Print this page

Countdown to the Eisners: 2018 Nominees for Best Continuing Series

Fanbase Press' coverage of the 2018 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards continues with the "Countdown to the Eisners" series.  From Monday, June 4, through Friday, July 13, 2018, Fanbase Press will highlight each of the Eisner Awards' 31 nomination categories, providing comic book industry members and readers alike the opportunity to learn more about the nominees and their work.  Stay tuned for Fanbase Press' continued coverage of the Eisner Awards, including live coverage of the ceremony at San Diego Comic-Con on Friday, July 20.

As one of the original Eisner Award nomination categories from 1988, the Best Continuing Series category honors excellence in creators whose work extends beyond a limited run of issues.  From superheroes to children’s books to the undead, previous winners of the Best Continuing Series Eisner Award have represented a variety of storytelling genres from both seasoned and independent publishers alike.  Here are the 2018 Eisner Award nominees for the Best Continuing Series category:  

Black Hammer, by Jeff Lemire, Dean Ormston, and David Rubín (Dark Horse)

Black Hammer is an ongoing comic book series created by writer Jeff Lemire and artist Dean Ormston.  First published by Dark Horse Comics in July 2016, this series has depicted the lives of six superheroes who have been mysteriously trapped on a farm for 10 years, forced to live a mundane existence with little to no hope of escape.  Providing commentary on the history of superhero comics and their proclivity for being rebooted and remade, Lemire, Ormston, and artist David Rubín have crafted a world of thoughtful character study and introspection. Throughout the past 2 years of publication, the Black Hammer universe has expanded to include spin-off series, including Sherlock Frankenstein and the Legion of Evil, Doctor Star and the Kingdom of Lost Tomorrows, and the recently announced The Quantum Age.  

This is the second year that Black Hammer has been recognized by the Eisner Awards, as it was named the winner of the Best New Series and Best Lettering (Todd Klein) categories in 2017; the series also received a nomination for Best Writer (Jeff Lemire) in the same year.

Click here to purchase. 

Giant Days, by John Allison, Max Sarin, and Liz Fleming (BOOM! Box)

Giant Days is an ongoing comic book series created, written, and illustrated by John Allison and illustrated by Lissa Treiman and Max Sarin.  Originally released as a webcomic starting in 2011 and then as a printed comic book series through BOOM! Studios’ BOOM! Box imprint in 2015, the series follows three young women in college as they navigate move-in day, online bullying, divergent personalities, and everything in between.  Offering readers a nuanced and layered portrayal of young women in college, critics have lauded the series for its depth of character development.

This is the second year that Giant Days has been recognized by the Eisner Awards, as it received nominations for Best Limited Series and Best Writer/Artist (John Allison) in 2016.  There series also was honored with four nominations from the Harvey Awards in 2016.

Click here to purchase. 

Hawkeye, by Kelly Thompson, Leonardo Romero, and Mike Walsh (Marvel)

Hawkeye is an ongoing comic book series written by Kelly Thompson and illustrated by Leonardo Romero and Mike Walsh.  In its latest iteration published by Marvel Comics, the series’ titular character has become Kate Bishop, former sidekick of Clint Barton (by way of The Young Avengers), who has taken residence in Los Angeles as she forms her own detective agency under the “Hawkeye” moniker.  Providing readers with a hilariously engrossing take on the famous archer, the series also offers a positive and dynamic female lead who isn’t afraid to tackle the misogyny of her villains (or the world around her).

Click here to purchase. 

Monstress, by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)

Monstress is an ongoing fantasy comic book series written by Marjorie Liu and illustrated by Sana Takeda.  Published by Image Comics since its inception in November 2015, the series follows Maika Halfwolf, a young woman with a psychic link to a powerful monster, who struggles to understand and control the mysterious power within her.  Tackling themes of race, feminism, and finding inner strength when faced with adversity, the series has spanned three years to incredible critical and fan response.

This is the third year that Monstress has been recognized by the Eisner Awards, as it was nominated for Best New Series and Best Writer in 2016, as well as Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17), Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art), and Best Cover Artist in 2017.  The series was also honored with both a Hugo Award and a British Fantasy Award in 2017 for Best Graphic Novel and Best Comic/Graphic Novel, respectively.

Click here to purchase. 

The Wicked + The Divine, by Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie (Image)

The Wicked + The Divine is an ongoing fantasy comic book series written by Kieron Gillen and illustrated by Jamie McKelvie.  Published by Image Comics since its inception in June 2014, the series follows a twelve reincarnated deities who are granted fame and supernatural powers; however, each will die in two years as part of a ninety-year cycle.  Largely influenced by themes of life and dead, mythological deities, and pop music, the series has received ongoing critical acclaim due to its inclusive depiction of its characters’ sexual orientations, ethnicities, and gender dynamics.

This is the second year that The Wicked + The Divine has been recognized by the Eisner Awards, as it was nominated for Best New Series, Best Cover Artist, and Best Coloring in 2015.

Click here to purchase.

Stay tuned to the Fanbase Press website tomorrow as we continue our “Countdown to the Eisners” coverage with the Best Continuing Series! Plus, follow Fanbase Press’ Facebook, Twitter (@Fanbase_Press), and Instagram (@fanbasepress) with the hashtag #FPSDCC to stay up to date on our SDCC and Eisner Awards updates, including a live-tweet of the 2018 Eisner Award Ceremony from the Hilton Bayfront Hotel at San Diego Comic-Con on the evening of Friday, July 20th!

Related items