2013 Saturn Award Winners Announced

The Fanboy Comics staff attended last night's 39th Annual Saturn Awards in Burbank, CA, celebrating the best in Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and Horror.  Stay tuned to the Fanboy Comics website for lots of interviews and photos from the coolest presenters, nominees, and award winners, including Joss Whedon, Jennifer Lawrence, Clark Gregg, and more!

For now, here is a list of last night's winners!  Congratulations to all, and thank you for your contributions to our favorite geek classics!




Best Science Fiction Film
: Marvel’s The Avengers
Best Fantasy Film
: Life of Pi
Best Horror/Thriller Film
: The Cabin in the Woods
Best Action/Adventure Film
: Skyfall
Best Actor
: Matthew McConaughey (Killer Joe)
Best Actress
: Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games)
Best Supporting Actor
: Clark Gregg (Marvel’s The Avengers)
Best Supporting Actress
: Anne Hathaway (The Dark Knight Rises)
Best Performance by a Younger Actor
: Suraj Sharma (Life of Pi)
Best Director
: Joss Whedon (Marvel’s The Avengers)
Best Writing
: Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained)
Best Production Design
: Dan Hennah (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey)
Best Editing
: Alexander Berner (Cloud Atlas)
Best Music
: Danny Elfman (Frankenweenie)
Best Costume
: Paco Delgado (Les Miserables)
Best Make-Up
: Heike Merker, Daniel Parker, Jeremy Woodhead (Cloud Atlas)
Best Special Effects
: Janek Sirrs, Jeff White, Guy Williams, Dan Sudick (Marvel’s The Avengers)
Best Independent Film Release:
Killer Joe
Best International Film
: Headhunters
Best Animated Film
: Frankenweenie


Best Network Television Series
: Revolution
Best Syndicated/Cable Television Series
: The Walking Dead
Best Presentation on Television
: Breaking Bad
Best Youth-Oriented Series on Television
: Teen Wolf
Best Actor on Television
: Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad), Kevin Bacon (The Following) – tie
Best Actress on Television
: Anna Torv (Fringe)
Best Supporting Actor on Television
: Jonathan Banks (Breaking Bad)
Best Supporting Actress on Television
: Laurie Holden (The Walking Dead)
Best Guest Star on Television
: Yvonne Strahovski (Dexter)


Best DVD/BD Release
: Touchback
Best DVD/BD Special Edition Reease: Little Shop of Horrors: The Director’s Cut
Best DVD/BD Collection Release
: Universal Classic Monsters: The Essential Collection
Best DVD/BD Television Series Release: Star Trek: The Next Generation, Season 1 & 2


The Lifetime Achievement Award
: William Friedkin

The Dan Curtis Legacy Award: Vince Gilligan

The Visionary Award: Richard Matheson

The Life Career Award: Jonathan Frakes

Theater Showcase Award: Silence! The Musical








The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror was founded in 1972 by noted film historian Dr. Donald A. Reed to honor and recognize genre entertainment.  Over the years, the Academy has expanded their reach to include other film genres.  The organization also recognizes excellence in television and home entertainment.



Last modified on Friday, 05 July 2013 05:33

Go to top