The Victories 1Michael Avon Oeming’s Victories is not the comic book I expected. This is the first issue in a new world, so I don’t know what it is exactly, but I do know that I am intrigued.  There is some Batman in this book’s DNA, but it is focused through a darker lens. The city is a den of crime and corruption. Vigilantes have risen to take back the city, including our protagonist, Faustus. He attempts, poorly, to crack jokes while delivering the hurt, but there is a deeper conflict which I, personally, can’t wait to investigate further. One thing about this book that impressed me was the villain, The Jackal. He is convinced that he is on the only moral path, even when he is murdering people. This makes the best kind of bad guy, and he is not wasted here. The relationship between The Jackal and Faustus is clearly well-established and interesting, despite the relative lack of details so far.

Reed Gunther V2Fans of Shane and Chris Houghton’s all-ages comic book series, Reed Gunther, will be ecstatic to learn that the familial duo recently released their second trade paperback, Reed Gunther Volume 2: Monsters and Mustaches!  Everyone’s favorite loud-mouthed cowboy, Reed Gunther, and his trusty bear Sterling are entangled in more hilarious adventures in this collection of Issues #6-10, which also includes lots of exciting extras like an introduction by Simpsons comic book writer Ian Boothby, Reed Gunther short stories, and fantastic sketches and pin-up art!  And, to commemorate the release of Monsters and Mustaches, the Houghton brothers have a very special treat for readers who may be new on the trail of the bear-riding cowboy.

Way Down in ChinatownThe following is an interview with Maria Olsen and Angel Corbin, the producers of the film Way Down in Chinatown.  In this interview, Fanboy Comics Managing Editor Barbra Dillon talks with Olsen and Corbin about the various genres included within the film, its commentary on corporate vs. individual creativity, and the film's impressive cast and crew list.

 

Invincible 94As far as I am concerned, if I was only able to have one comic book title in my pull list, that book would be Invincible. As the series approaches Issue #100, it still remains as fresh and exciting as ever.

SPOILERS BELOW

Serenity Those Left BehindIs there seriously anything better than getting more Firefly? Methinks not. I went into Serenity: Those Left Behind completely in the dark as to what it was about, when it took place, and who was involved, which left me completely satisfied at the ending. 


MAJOR SPOILERS BELOW

Paul Taylor art1Today’s Indie and the Geek interview may be familiar to some of you. I met Paul Taylor on Twitter, but you may know him by his web comic, Wapsi Square. Paul has been a good friend online, and it is a delight to finally get to sit down with him and give him this long-awaited interview on him and his delightful series.
 

 

Y posterThe FFOW! series takes a look at that vast library created by the proud and the passionate: fan films.  Whether the budget and talent is astronomical or amateur, FFOW! celebrates the filmmakers whose love of comics, books, movies, video games, and TV shows inspires them to join the great conversation with their own homemade masterpieces.

 

 

This week, I decided to man up and watch the Y: The Last Man fan adaptation that has created waves online this summer.  Best.  Decision.  Ever.

 

Wing CommanderIt’s been a long time since a book covering the Wing Commander franchise has been released, and, in fact, this one still hasn’t really been released.  Pilgrim Truth is the conclusion to a trilogy of books by Peter Telep that are based off of the Wing Commander film from 1999 and was denied release on its original date of 2000.  Because of license agreements and the publishing contracts, the novel maintained a limbo status for over a decade until the author finally got permission in late 2011 to release it (and his manuscript notes) to the official fan website, Wing Commander CIC (www.wcnews.com).  Because I’m a bit of a “wingnut,” and having waited a significant amount of time to read this piece, I delved right into it . . . and really wish I hadn’t.

SPOILERS BELOW

BW Ozymandias 2The comic book event of the summer is nigh!  Before Watchmen, the much-anticipated prequel series to Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons' Watchmen, will consist of seven limited series and an epilogue one-shot.  Stay tuned, as the Fanboy Comics crew will be reviewing each title as it is released. Hurm. 

 

 

I made an executive decision recently to not expect the Before Watchmen books to be Watchmen. I will look at them in the context of today, and not expect them to be the same as the original. This is somewhere between generosity towards the books and self preservation.

SPOILERS BELOW

Lance ReddickAt the 2012 Saturn Awards, actor Lance Reddick (The Wire, Fringe) talks with Fanboy Comics Managing Editor Barbra Dillon about his work on Tron: Uprising, how voice acting stacks up to being in front of a camera, and his upcoming projects!

 

 

 

 

 

Page 698 of 772
Go to top