Elephantmen 42Elephantmen is the best book you aren't reading right now. That's a real shame, because everybody should be reading it. Sure, it's a weird, high concept book filled with sex and violence, but when you pull back those layers, it's a really wonderful, emotional story about flawed people trying to do their best. That's where its genius lies, because when you get really into the story, you forget that you're looking at a 12-foot tall elephant/man hybrid, and you just feel for this person. The empathy that Richard Starkings has infused his book with makes Elephantmen so much more than what its cover suggests.

 

Fatale 7Fatale is Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips' awesome, new noir-inspired look at secret cults, drugged out actors, and the seedy underbelly of Hollywood. It takes all of the classic elements of old crime stories and mixes them up with a big helping of the supernatural to create a new series that is totally unlike anything else out there. Brubaker utilizes a unique first-person narration that isn't commonly seen in modern comics to give the reader a look into the mind of his character. As readers, we get to experience the doubts and worries that plague Miles as he unravels this mystery right along with us.

 

Saga 6The joke of “Go read this now” is common enough in reviews, but I literally mean it here. Saga is an ongoing story in a strange and fascinating universe that takes time to become familiar with and is worth every moment of investment. If you like Brian K. Vaughan's other work or the summary below sounds interesting, you should go read Issues #1-#5, and then come back to this review in anticipation for the release of Issue #6.

 

The Victories 1Michael Avon Oeming’s Victories is not the comic book I expected. This is the first issue in a new world, so I don’t know what it is exactly, but I do know that I am intrigued.  There is some Batman in this book’s DNA, but it is focused through a darker lens. The city is a den of crime and corruption. Vigilantes have risen to take back the city, including our protagonist, Faustus. He attempts, poorly, to crack jokes while delivering the hurt, but there is a deeper conflict which I, personally, can’t wait to investigate further. One thing about this book that impressed me was the villain, The Jackal. He is convinced that he is on the only moral path, even when he is murdering people. This makes the best kind of bad guy, and he is not wasted here. The relationship between The Jackal and Faustus is clearly well-established and interesting, despite the relative lack of details so far.

Reed Gunther V2Fans of Shane and Chris Houghton’s all-ages comic book series, Reed Gunther, will be ecstatic to learn that the familial duo recently released their second trade paperback, Reed Gunther Volume 2: Monsters and Mustaches!  Everyone’s favorite loud-mouthed cowboy, Reed Gunther, and his trusty bear Sterling are entangled in more hilarious adventures in this collection of Issues #6-10, which also includes lots of exciting extras like an introduction by Simpsons comic book writer Ian Boothby, Reed Gunther short stories, and fantastic sketches and pin-up art!  And, to commemorate the release of Monsters and Mustaches, the Houghton brothers have a very special treat for readers who may be new on the trail of the bear-riding cowboy.

Way Down in ChinatownThe following is an interview with Maria Olsen and Angel Corbin, the producers of the film Way Down in Chinatown.  In this interview, Fanboy Comics Managing Editor Barbra Dillon talks with Olsen and Corbin about the various genres included within the film, its commentary on corporate vs. individual creativity, and the film's impressive cast and crew list.

 

Invincible 94As far as I am concerned, if I was only able to have one comic book title in my pull list, that book would be Invincible. As the series approaches Issue #100, it still remains as fresh and exciting as ever.

SPOILERS BELOW

Serenity Those Left BehindIs there seriously anything better than getting more Firefly? Methinks not. I went into Serenity: Those Left Behind completely in the dark as to what it was about, when it took place, and who was involved, which left me completely satisfied at the ending. 


MAJOR SPOILERS BELOW

Paul Taylor art1Today’s Indie and the Geek interview may be familiar to some of you. I met Paul Taylor on Twitter, but you may know him by his web comic, Wapsi Square. Paul has been a good friend online, and it is a delight to finally get to sit down with him and give him this long-awaited interview on him and his delightful series.
 

 

Y posterThe FFOW! series takes a look at that vast library created by the proud and the passionate: fan films.  Whether the budget and talent is astronomical or amateur, FFOW! celebrates the filmmakers whose love of comics, books, movies, video games, and TV shows inspires them to join the great conversation with their own homemade masterpieces.

 

 

This week, I decided to man up and watch the Y: The Last Man fan adaptation that has created waves online this summer.  Best.  Decision.  Ever.

Page 613 of 687
Go to top